Stella Peach new album coming October 28th!!!


Coming October 28th, 2014 is the Post-Consumer Records debut of Stella Peach!  Titled “Wisdom Teeth,” the new record was recorded by Nicholas Taplin in the Post-Consumer Studio for over a year.  The record is strikingly personal and the lush audiophile recording captures the music (almost entirely performed by Stella) with immediate intimacy.  We think you will love it!

Bad News From Houston

Bad News from Houston cover art by Tuia Cherici

In The Valley Of The Cloudbuilder available on CD and Digital Download – HERE

John Dieterich (Deerhoof) and Thollem McDonas (Tsigoti) have created an album of complete immediacy, wherein every sound is presented with such vividness and detail that each minute sound event becomes foregrounded. When an acoustic guitar is played, you don’t just hear the strings, you hear the wood, too. When the strings of the piano explode, you are inside the sound chamber, feeling the coiled metal shatter against your skin. Intimacy takes a bright and radiant form on ‘In The Valley Of The Cloud Builder’. The joyous energy in these recordings prevents any of these pieces from sitting still. Clanking bottles topple over into ecstatic electronics so quickly that by the time your mind says “bottle”, what you are hearing is the most jackrabbit High Life guitar riff ever played. So much life is in this work that even Dieterich and McDonas, longtime collaborators, realized they had evolved as a music-making unit. To commemorate this turning of the ship, a new name: Bad News From Houston.

On In The Valley Of The Cloudbuilder, you find allusions to other ecosystems, other eras, and yet something uniquely new. This work is both clean and gritty, desert and metropolitan, high-brow and visceral.

For fans of Deerhoof, The Hand to Man Band, Tsigoti, of course, but also if you like the works of John Fahey, Terry Riley, Battles, Gastr del Sol (or solo Grubbs or O’Rourke) than you will be glad that you have arrived.

Artwork: tuia cherici MANUCINEMA

Review in Critical Masses “a fantastic record”

Name-your-price December!!

All this month, we’ve decided to let fans, friends and family of the Post-Consumer label determine what our releases are worth to each individual. On bandcamp, you can offer to pay whatever dollar amount you feel compelled to pay on great recordings like the Barnes/Dieterich/Thollem/Watt don’t-call-it-a-supergroup supergroup The Hand to Man Band, the debut EP from Portland’s Death Songs, the brilliant poet Bucky Sinister, the new LP from the intercontinental avant-circus-punk band TSIGOTI or the psychedelic pop stylings of Nehemiah St-Danger!! It’s an opportunity to show these artists some love, or check them out for very little (or no) money.


Order HERE!

The world’s favorite anarcho blues lullaby noise free jazz avant circus punk band of joyful rebel revelers has yet again created another mesmerizingly entertaining musical album of much needed political provocation.  With Piero ‘Torpedo’ Spitilli joining the band on bass (Squarcicatrici, Baro Drom Orkestar), Thollem (Hand To Man Band), Jacopo (L’Enfance Rouge, Squarcicatrici), and Andrea (Jealousy Party), Tsigoti continues full steam ahead on their fourth and latest release, refining the direction of their previous works.  The great Italian illustrator Squaz (check out his HOTEL-TARANTULA) contributes the artwork, Alessandro Maffei‘s behind the mixes, and mastering the album was Deerhoof’s own John Dieterich.  Taking all into account, Read Between The Lines…Think Outside Them will become a collector’s item for those who love this band already as well as those yet initiated.



PCR-005 has dropped! Nehemiah St-Danger’s epic debut is upon us!

Nehemiah St-Danger

The Slow and Painful Birth of Nehemiah St-Danger

– an autobiographical meta-operetta about Post-9/11 America, Antediluvian Mysteries and Self-Aggrandizing Myth…

Out now on our website; in stores 9/25

The Slow and Painful Birth of Nehemiah St-Danger has been a long time coming. Originally recorded in Oakland circa 2005, and further supplemented in 2008, the tracks were then subjected to trials and tribulations that included three hard drive failures, digital sound file reconstruction, and re-recording. After languishing in relative obscurity for a number of years, these basement tapes have been unearthed yet again, and Post-Consumer Records is pleased to give them the release they deserve.

Nehemiah St-Danger began his expansive musical trajectory at the tender age of seventeen, playing with none other than C.W. Vrtacek (Biota, Forever Einstein), before moving to Oakland. While squatting at Mills College he discovered Morton Subotnick’s Buchla synth and began using the facilities at the San Francisco Tape Music Center covertly (another secret recording was being made there at the same time – it was Joanna Newsome’s The Milk-Eyed Mender). While there he picked the brains of avant luminaries such as Cecil Taylor, Fred Frith and Pauline Oliveros, passing for an anonymous graduate student. Since then, he’s played with The Fits, Leyna Noel (Psychic Reality, Pocahaunted), Chris Stroffolino (Silver Jews) and Greg Ashley (The Gris Gris).  He currently plays in Malaikat Dan Singa with Old Time Relijun’s Arrington De Dionyso.

At some point during these myriad projects Nehemiah sought a reprieve from the spotlight and retreated to his bedroom. Toiling away in poverty and obscurity, he developed a stratagem, and so came The Slow and Painful Birth of Nehemiah St-Danger. Nehemiah composed and recorded the album using 4-track cassette, open-source software, and ‘artificially-sentient’ computer programs, mining elements from disparate sources as did The Velvet Underground with the noisier aspects of R’n’B, and the avant-garde.  That process, when paired with underlying themes of spirituality and the artist’s pursuit/realization of his own power and identity, serves to magnify this hypnagogic bedroom operetta, to carry it beyond the merely local into the undeniably universal.

Full of blind alleys, haunted hallways, and open corridors, The Slow and Painful Birth of Nehemiah St-Danger is ultimately a vision of the future circumscribed by an architect with an acute knowledge of the past. In what was ultimately a journey of self-discovery, St-Danger has harnessed the energy of this precarious world we inhabit and used it for all our benefit – he may well be the harbinger of a new American Folk Music.

Program A (The Travails of Men in Repose)

  1. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in Concussion Musics
  2. Invocation of the Old “Come On Brother, Now”
  3. Nehemiah St-Danger Meets Venus of the Tumbling Towers
  4. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in the Tiger Ate My Head Blues
  5. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in the Desert on Christmas Morning
  6. Nehemiah St-Danger Sings “The Ezra Dada Tea Town Rag”
  7. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in the Song of Impermanence

Program B (Conspiracy Theory Rock)

  1. Let’s Take Some Drugs to the Park
  2. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in a Series of Construction Paper Chains
  3. Nehemiah’s Theme
  4. Nehemiah St-Danger Lost and Alone in the Apotheosis of Love
  5. Blood Mysteriously Manifests Itself in the Yolk
  6. Reprise Invocation of the Old “Come On Brother, Now”
  7. Nehemiah St-Danger Sings Selections from the Agnostic Gospels Hymnal
  8. Overture to the Rotting Rainbows of Babylon